Loans that change lives



Our Rotary Club of Lloydminster has donated $1500 per year to KIVA since 2010, totalling $9151.


This money has been lent out and repaid in 1649 loans with a total value of $41,725 in loans! 


We contribute $25 to a loan along with other KIVA members to fully fund one individual, helping minimize our risk.  An average loan request is about $1500.


Click here to learn more about the borrowing process & review some FAQs:


Here is a recent loan we supported!


Borrower image
Name: Naomi
Country: Dominican Republic
Loan for: education
Loan amount: $6250 (198 lenders)
Disbursed date: January 30, 2017
Naomi’s story
Naomi wants to study a career in Hospitality and Tourism. She seeks a loan to cover her education expenses. This is her story: My name is Naomi. I was born on April 2, 1999 in Santiago de los Caballeros, RD and am 17 years old. I grew up in Villa Olímpica, raised by my paternal grandmother, due to the absence of my mother. My father is a graphic designer and today he runs his own business. I have a 2 year old brother.

I want to study Hospitality and Tourism at the O & M University, because it is a career that matches with my personality and likes, as it focuses on social and cultural aspects, which matches me perfectly and where I can develop a complete skillset.

The loan is necessary because without it it will be impossible to pay the cost of the career and the expenses that come with it. In the case of not receiving the loan, I await turning the age of majority (18) in order to look for work and save until I have a sufficient amount to begin studying.

My academic goal is to give my best to every obstacle and in addition to having good grades, to have really learned the content every day of class.

My personal goal is to be a better person every day, learning to recognize my errors and improve my weak areas. Then upon finalizing my studies, I will move to a province with more tourists and develop my career, whether in administration, eco-tourism, or another area in the field.